Skip Header to Content
GLAD Logo GLAD Logo Skip Primary Navigation to Content
  • By Issue
  • By Author
  • By Date

Protecting Transgender Healthcare Access in Response to Healthcare Bans

Every major medical association endorses the standards of care for transgender adolescents diagnosed with gender dysphoria as best-practice, research-based medical care.

Yet, amid a wave of anti-LGBTQ+ legislation being promoted across parts of the country, 18 states have passed laws or regulations banning access to such care.

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • West Virginia

Federal courts have issued rulings blocking bans in Alabama, Arkansas, and Missouri. Legal challenges to bans in Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Oklahoma, and Tennessee are pending.

In addition to Vermont, ten states have passed laws or issued executive orders protecting access to healthcare for transgender people, and bills are currently pending in six other states.

  • Shield laws have been passed in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico, and Washington.
  • Protective executive orders have been issued in Minnesota and New Jersey
  • Pending shield laws in Maine, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, and Oregon

Governor Scott is the second Republican governor to sign legislation protecting access to transgender healthcare, after former Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker signed such a bill last year.